My first tattoo was a mistake.  Back when the law allowed anyone 16+ to get tattoos with parental or guardian consent I chose a design that I thought I would love for the rest of my life.  I didn’t have much money at the time and anyone who has a tattoo also knows the saying: “You get what you pay for” and I have hated that tattoo ever since.  You will not be seeing that tattoo in this post.  I haven’t had it covered up yet because I’ve been busy getting other tattoos, and since it’s on my lower back, like most classy tattoos in the late 90’s and early 2000’s people don’t see it anyway.

This post is about the tattoos that I do love!  My Halloween inspired ink gives me happiness to look at every day.  I will probably be one of those fully tatted up grannies telling my neighborhood kids to chill out and think before they act and invite them over to school them at Mario Kart.

I have dream artists that I want to collect ink from.  Teresa Sharpe and Erin Chance at Unkindness Art parlor in Richmond, VA are priority.  Kelly Doty from Gold Dust Gallery in Salem and most recently I was able to get something done by Gabby Maravelas at Steady Tattoo in Minneapolis, MN (seen below)

3.png

We still need to add a crystal ball on the other side and I plan on getting my whole leg filled up with work by her!  This one was inspired by the film Hocus Pocus.

I feel like I’m running out of space so I want to steer clear of filling up any important places with large pieces until I can get work done from them.  What am I thinking of getting next?  A sleepy Hollow Headless Horseman and some fall foliage.

In the meantime, here are some cool pieces that I have and wanted to share!

Jeremy Calaveras from Stay Tru Tattoo in Burnsville, MN did this memorial piece for my great grandparents.  The flowers are pot marigolds which are my great grandmother Florian’s birth flower, and the sun rays at the top represent a play on my great grandfathers name which is Ray.

2

Jeremy also did both of these pieces.  He’s a master at Neo traditional and colorful ink.  The cauldron needs a touch up but I haven’t wanted to go through the healing process again yet.

tattoo1

Here are some close up shots of the haunted house piece that wraps around my wrist.

For a short time I worked at a tattoo parlor.  I don’t want to give the name of it for Anonymity but one of the artists did this piece for me.  I had to draw up the bat silhouette design because I’ve seen a lot of bad ones out there and I wanted to make sure mine was on point.

4

Another coworker did this crescent moon on my middle finger.  I have an identical one on my other middle finger that’s filled in all black!

1

Here’s a work in progress shot of the featured picture above.  Done by Winfield Green at Tattoo Asylum in Spring Lake Park, MN.  It’s fully colored now but I kind of miss what it looked like in gray scale.

tattoo

This werewolf was also done by Winfield over 5 years ago!  It still looks awesome.

5.png

I’d love to see your Halloween or spooky inspired tattoos.  You can tag my FB, Tumblr, or Instagram @Battywampus to show me what you got!

